About The Roberto Clemente Award

About The Roberto Clemente AwardThe Roberto Clemente Award is a national award which is given annually to the Major League Baseball player who combines outstanding skills on the baseball field with devoted work in their local community.

The Roberto Clemente Award presented annualy by Chevrolet is named for the 12-time All-Star and Hall of Famer who died in a plane crash on New Year’s Eve 1972 while attempting to deliver supplies to earthquake victims in Nicaragua. The award perpetuates Clemente’s memory and character by recognizing current baseball players who truly understand the value of helping others.

Major League Baseball and Chevrolet, the official vehicle of Major League Baseball, announced the names of the 30 Club nominees who are finalists for the prestigious 2007 Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet.

The 30 Club recipients of the 2007 Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet are:

Arizona Diamondbacks ˆ Orlando Hudson
Atlanta Braves ˆ Tim Hudson
Baltimore Orioles ˆ Jamie Walker
Boston Red Sox ˆ David Ortiz
Chicago Cubs ˆ Derrek Lee
Chicago White Sox ˆ Jim Thome
Cincinnati Reds ˆ Aaron Harang
Cleveland Indians ˆ Travis Hafner
Colorado Rockies ˆ Matt Holliday
Detroit Tigers ˆ Curtis Granderson
Florida Marlins ˆ Miguel Cabrera
Houston Astros ˆ Craig Biggio
Kansas City Royals ˆ Mike Sweeney
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim ˆ Vladimir Guerrero
Los Angeles Dodgers ˆ Derek Lowe
Milwaukee Brewers ˆ Jeff Suppan
Minnesota Twins ˆ Torii Hunter
New York Mets ˆ Paul Lo Duca
New York Yankees ˆ Jorge Posada
Oakland Athletics ˆ Nick Swisher
Philadelphia Phillies ˆ Jamie Moyer
Pittsburgh Pirates ˆ Jack Wilson
St. Louis Cardinals ˆ Albert Pujols
San Diego Padres ˆ Jake Peavy
San Francisco Giants ˆ Russ Ortiz
Seattle Mariners ˆ Raul Ibañez
Tampa Bay Devil Rays ˆ Carl Crawford
Texas Rangers ˆ Michael Young
Toronto Blue Jays ˆ Vernon Wells
Washington Nationals ˆ Ryan Zimmerman