2009 Baseball Hall of Famers

2009 Baseball Hall of FamersThe Baseball Writers' Association of America elected left fielders Rickey Henderson and Jim Rice as members of the Class of 2009 on Jan. 12, while the Veterans Committee similarly tabbed second baseman Joe Gordon for the same honor last Dec. 8.

All three players will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at the Induction Ceremony in Cooperstown on Sunday, July 26.

The National Baseball Hall of Fame features 289 members, including 2009 electees Joe Gordon, Rickey Henderson and Jim Rice. Included are 202 former Major League players, 35 Negro leaguers, 26 executives or pioneers, 18 managers and eight umpires.

The Baseball Writers' Association of America has elected 108 former players to the Hall of Fame, while the Hall of Fame Committee on Baseball Veterans has elected 153 candidates (92 Major Leaguers, 26 pioneers/executives, 18 managers, nine Negro leaguers and eight umpires). The defunct Committee on Negro Leagues selected nine members between 1971-77. The Hall of Fame currently has 65 living members.